199th syndicate meeting of the University of Sindh chaired by the Vice Chancellor and the Chairman of Syndicate.

Vice Chancellor Prof. Dr. Fateh Mohammed Burfat commenced meeting and welcomed all the honored members. After that, important decisions were taken considering the various items in the agenda.

The meeting approved appointments of the directors of various institutes and Chairmans of the teaching departments for three years, under which Prof. Dr. Abdul Wasim Sheikh was appointed to the Institute of Mathematics and Computer Science, Prof. Dr. Naseem Aslam Chana, Institute of Biochemistry, Dr. Habibullah Naqvi, Institute of Biotechnology and Genetic Engineering, Prof. Dr. Misbah Bibi Qureshi, Institute of Gender Studies, Prof. Dr. Mohammad Hassan Aghaim, Center for Pure and Applied Geology, Prof. Dr. Abdul Sattar Shah to Institute of Business Administration. In addition appointment of chairmans of different teaching departments for three years period.

The meeting also approved the setting up of the Banking and Finance Department at Sindh University.

In the meeting, a five-member committee was constituted by Syndicate to review the service structure prepared by the university administration in grades 2 to 16. A committee of Syndicate members was also formed for the officers’ promotions and time scales, which would soon present their recommendations in this regard.

Moreover, other important decisions were also made on this occasion. Nominated and elected members attended the meeting. The member nominated by the Chief Justice of the Sindh High Court was Justice Adnan Iqbal Chaudhry, a member nominated by the chairman of the Higher Education Commission, Islamabad, Dr. Nilofar Sheikh, former Vice Chancellor of Shah Abdul Latif University Khairpur, Justice Saindino Metlo, Prof. Dr. Abdul Ahad Abro, Former Vice Chancellor Mehran University of Engineering and Technology, Dr. Nasiruddin Shaikh, Vice Chancellor Government College University Hyderabad, Advocate Nisar Ahmad Durrani, Principal Government Sindh Law College Hyderabad, Mr.Jhamat Jeṭhannd, Dean Faculty of Law Sindh University, elected members Prof. Dr. Arfana Begum Mallah, Dr. Rafiq Ahmed Lashari, Mr. Jamshed Baloch and Mr. Asadullah Buledi  were included.

The proceedings of the meeting was run by Dr. Amir Ali Abro, Registrar of SU and Secretary of Syndicate.